Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Spring Grove Hospital : InpatientResearch

 Inpatient Research Program

Program Description:

The Treatment Research Unit (TRU) was established in 1989 as a joint venture between the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) and the University of Maryland at Baltimore (UMB), with the dual mission of providing state of the art clinical care to patients with treatment-resistant schizophrenia while conducting research on novel treatments for this difficult illness.  Consisting of one 24-bed unit, the TRU is operated and staffed by Spring Grove Hospital.  The research mission is under the guidance of the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center (MPRC), a division of the Department of Psychiatry at UMB.  The research program is currently managed and directed by Deanna L. Kelly, PharmD, BCPP, Professor of Psychiatry as part of the MPRC Treatment Research Program.  The clinical unit and staff are supervised by Charles Richardson, MD, Staff Psychiatrist with Spring Grove Hospital.  At the TRU, clinical and research staff work collaboratively to provide an enhanced therapeutic experience for patients, providing expert, evidence-based, pharmaco-therapy, and state of the art psychosocial and rehabilitation-focused therapies.
 

Research Program:

Since its inception, the TRU has been a recruitment site for numerous medication trials that have targeted treatment-resistant psychosis, negative symptoms, and cognitive deficits in patients with Schizophrenia and Schizoaffective Disorder.  Under Dr. Kelly’s direction, the research program has also addressed substance use and medical co-morbidities associated with schizophrenia and its treatment.  Research participation is strictly voluntary and generally follows a period of open treatment optimization.  Patients are educated about research opportunities and they must demonstrate an understanding of the protocol and its risks before they can consent to participate.
 

Psychosocial Treatments:

While every effort is made to control symptoms through optimal pharmaco-therapy, the majority of our patients are still burdened with significant functional, financial, and social deficits.  Given that reality, the TRU’s psychosocial interventions are designed to foster personal recovery and rehabilitation.  Our goal is to help our patients understand and manage their illnesses in order to refocus on living their lives.   Therapeutic interventions include occupational and recreation therapies, motivational interviewing, cognitive-behavioral therapy, psycho-education, and family support.  We strive to help our patients re-establish family relationships and personal interests, and to transition to the community.  Disposition planning is client-centered, and is perhaps our most important activity.
 

Family Involvement:

The maintenance and repair of family relations is hugely important to our patients’ well-being and recovery.  Family support is also critical to accomplishing our research mission.  Thus, family involvement is encouraged at every stage of treatment.  Families are contacted at the time of referral and are encouraged to visit prior to admission and throughout the hospitalization.  Families are educated about research opportunities and a Family Education and Support Group is held each month. 
 

Referral Process:

The TRU accepts patient referrals from throughout the State of Maryland.  Admission Criteria include:
 
  • Males and Females between 18 and 65.
  • Diagnoses of Schizophrenia and Schizoaffective Disorder
  • Persistent symptoms that prevent safe community functioning
     

Exclusion Criteria include:

  • Mental Retardation and Neurologic Disorders independent of Schizophrenia
  • Unstable medical conditions
  • Legal status that would prevent research participation such as Guardianship of Person or Court Ordered treatment
On referral, the TRU’s recruiter will contact the referring agency and interview the referred patient to determine eligibility and interest.  When possible, patients and their families are encouraged to visit the TRU prior to accepting admission, to meet clinical staff and tour the unit.
 
To obtain further information or to make a referral, please contact:
 
Mandy Porta, LCSW-C
410-402-6875
mporta@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
For specific information on clinical trial information, please contact:
 
Stephanie M. Feldman LCSW-C
410-402-6885
sfeldman@mprc.umaryland.edu

Contact Us 

Clinical Staff:

Charles Richardson, MD
Psychiatrist and Unit Director
410-402-6871
Charles.Richardson@maryland.gov
 
Gopal Vyas, DO
Psychiatrist
410-402-6865
Gopal.Vyas@maryland.gov
 
Elizabeth Gale, LCSW-C
Social Worker
410-402-6866
Elizabeth.Gale@maryland.gov
 
Kelly Dutcher, LCSW-C
Social Worker
410-402-6804
Kelly.Dutcher@maryland.gov
 
Michelle Kuptzin, OTR
Occupational Therapist
410-402-6868
Michelle.Kuptzin@maryland.gov
 
Anne Padgett, CTRS
Activity Therapist
410-402-6862
Anne.Padgett@maryland.gov
 
Mandy Porta, LCSW-C
Unit Recruiter
410-402-6875
mporta@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Heather Adams, PsyD
Psychologist
410-402-6818
Heathera.Adams@maryland.gov
 
Claribel Okafor, RN
Head Nurse
410-402-6872
Claribel.Okafor@maryland.gov
 
Research Staff:
Deanna L. Kelly, PharmD, BCPP
Professor of Psychiatry
Director and Chief
Treatment Research Program
410-402-6861
dkelly@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Susan Basham
Coordinator
410-402-6805
sbasham@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Karen Horn
Administrative Assistant
410-402-6860
khorn@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Stephanie M. Feldman, MSW, LCSW-C
Director of Research Operations
410-402-6885
sfeldman@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Dale Warfel, RN
Research Nurse
410-402-6844
cwarfel@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Ann Marie Kearns, BA
Specialist, Research Compliance
410-402-6854
akearns@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Kelli Sullivan, BS
Research Counselor
410-402-6412
ksullivan@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Amber Earl, MS
Clinical Research Assistant
410-402-6813
aearl@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Fang Liu, MS
Statistician
410-402-883
fliu@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Heidi Wehring, PharmD, BCPP
Assistant Professor
410-402-6842
hwehring@mprc.umaryland.edu
 
Kimberly Warren, PhD
Assistant Professor
410-402-6806
kwarren@mprc.umaryland.edu