Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Psych : Home


About the Board

The Board of Examiners of Psychologists is a group of seven licensed psychologists and two consumer members appointed by the Governor to administer and regulate the laws regarding the practice of psychology in Maryland. The Board's mission is to ensure that consumers in Maryland receive quality psychological services in accordance with the laws in Maryland. The Board has been in existence since July 1,1981. The original Psychologist's Act was enacted into law in Maryland on July 1,1957 by the General Assembly. The Board functions include licensing psychologists, approving psychology associates, renewing licenses, reviewing continuing education, promulgating regulations, interpreting the scope of practice, educating licensees, and investigating complaints.    



Steven Sobelman, Ph.D., Chair
Jeffrey Barnett, Psy.D., ABPP., Vice Chair
Christopher L. Bishop, Psy.D.
James F. Gormally, Ph.D.,ABPP
Irene W.Leigh, Ph.D.
Lydia McCargo-Redd, Consumer Member
Neal R. Morris, Ed.D., MS, ABPP
Harriet B. Rakes, Consumer Member
Lydia McCargo-Redd, Consumer Member
Myra A. Waters, Ph.D.


Lorraine  Smith, MA, MPH, Executive Director
Sally Mitchell, Office Secretary
Dorothy Kutcherman, Licensing Coordinator
P. Morris English, M.S., Investigator
Sangeeta Sarkar, M.S., DP Programmer Analyst
Linda Bethman, A.A.G., Board Counsel
Brett E. Felter, A.A.G., Staff Attorney


May 9, 2014   October 10, 2014
June 6, 2014   November 7, 2014
July 11, 2014   December 5, 2014
September 12, 2014