Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

DHMH Press Releases : DHMH to Convene Behavioral Health Integration Stakeholder Workgroup

DHMH to Convene Behavioral Health Integration Stakeholder Workgroup

Members of the public invited to participate

Baltimore, MD (May 20, 2014) – Secretary Joshua M. Sharfstein has appointed Kathleen Rebbert-Franklin to chair the Behavioral Health Integration Stakeholder Workgroup created by House Bill 1510. Ms. Rebbert-Franklin is currently the Acting Director of the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration and will assume the Deputy Director position for Population-Based Behavioral Health in the new Behavioral Health Administration on July 1, 2014.

The legislation, passed during the 2014 legislative session, requires the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) to convene a stakeholder workgroup to make recommendations on issues related to behavioral health, including statutory and regulatory changes to fully integrate mental health and substance use disorder treatment and recovery support, and promote health services. The workgroup includes representatives of DHMH, providers, consumers and advocacy organizations.

The workgroup will hold seven public meetings at Spring Grove Hospital Center, Dix Building, Basement Conference Room, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228. The meetings will be held from 1 to 3 p.m. on the following dates:

·         June 13, 2014

·         July 1, 2014

·         July 25, 2014

·         August 15, 2014

·         September 5, 2014

·         September 26, 2014

·         October 17, 2014

The Department would like to invite members of the public to attend the meetings. Individuals interested in receiving updates should email the Department at .  For more information about the Workgroup, visit