Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Board of Dietetic Practice

About the Board of Dietetic Practice

Welcome to the Maryland State Board of Dietetic Practice. The Board operates under the Maryland Dietitians and Licensed Nutritionists Act, Health Occupations Article, Title 5, Annotated Code of Maryland. The State Board of Dietetic Practice (the "Board") is the licensing authority of dietitians and nutritionists in the State of Maryland. The Board is mandated to regulate the practice of dietetics in Maryland by licensing qualified dietitians and nutritionists, establishing fees, maintaining a current roster of all licensees, promulgating regulations for the practice of dietetics, verification of credentials, issuance of licenses, establish requirements for and verification of completion of continuing education, investigation of complaints based on alleged violations of regulations and statutes, formal and informal disciplining of licensees, create committees as deemed appropriate to advise the Board, and submit an annual report to the Governor and Secretary.


The Mission of the Board of Dietetic Practice is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the field of dietetics by licensing and certifying dietitians and nutritionists, setting standards for the practice of dietetics through regulations and legislation, and receiving and resolving complaints from the public regarding dietitians and nutritionists.


Hot Topic


The Board is currently in the late renewal stage for licenses that expired on October 31, 2015. There is a $100 late fee assessed for renewals between November 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015.

If your license expired on October 31, 2015, and you do not renew by December 31, 2015, you are considered to be practicing without a license and are subject to disciplinary action. In addition, Licensed Dietitian-Nutritionists who have not completed the entire renewal process by December 31, 2015, are required to apply for reinstatement and pay a reinstatement fee of $586 in order to practice dietetics in Maryland.



Office of Governor


PIA Requests

  • Public Information Act Contact:
    Marie Savage  (410) 764-4741


Stay Connected

4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299
Phone: (410) 764-4733
Fax: (410) 358-1610