Speech-Language Pathologists - Qualifications for Licensure
Qualifications for Full License in Speech-Language Pathology
To qualify for a full license in speech-language pathology, an applicant must:
Be of good moral character
Hold a Master's Degree in Speech-Language Pathology from an educational institution which incorporates the academic course work and the minimum hours of supervised training required by the regulations of the Board.
Have completed the period of supervised postgraduate professional practice (CFY) in speech-language pathology as specified by the regulations adopted by the Board.
Have passed the National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology
In most instances, the Board's requirements parallel ASHA's. However, a Certificate of Clinical Competence from ASHA is not required to obtain a license to practice in Maryland. Holding the CCC does reduce considerably the paper work needed for licensure.
If Licensed in Another State:
The Board does endorse licensure from another state if:
The requirements in the other state are the same or higher than those in Maryland, (listed above) and,
The applicant holds a current, non-expired license in the other state.
Click on the Forms Link to download an Application for a Full License in Speech-Language Pathology
Qualifications for Limited License in Speech-Language Pathology
A Limited License from the Board is required in order to practice under supervision (CFY) in Maryland. The application must be approved by the Board before beginning the supervised practice.
To qualify for a Limited License in speech-language pathology, an applicant must:
Be of good moral character.
Hold a Master's Degree in speech-language pathology from an educational institution which incorporates the academic course work and the minimum hours of supervised training required by the regulations of the Board.
Submit to the Board for approval a plan demonstrating that for the term of the limited license the applicant shall practice speech-language pathology only under the supervision of a fully licensed speech-language pathologist (or if, the position is in a setting where licensure is not required, that the supervisor has a current CCC-SLP from ASHA.)
Unless an exception is approved by the Board, an applicant shall begin the clinical fellowship within 2 years after completion of the academic course work and clinical practicum requirements and shall complete the clinical fellowship within 36 months.
A Limited Licensee must be employed as a full time professional (30 hours a week) in the field under appropriate supervision for not less than 9 months to complete the clinical fellowship. This requirement may also be met by part-time employment as follows:
25-29 hours a week for 12 months,
20-24 hours a week for 15 months,
15-19 hours a week for 18 months.
At least 80% of the Limited Licensee's employment must be in direct client contact which includes assessment/diagnosis/evaluation, screening, habilitation-rehabilitation, and activities related to client management.
Please Note: A Limited License is valid only under the supervisor and in the employment setting stated on the license. If during the CFY, the person changes supervisor or employment or both, a new CFY Plan must be submitted to the Board. The new plan must be approved by the Board before the Limited License begins practicing in the new setting or under the new supervisor.
Supervision of Speech-Language Pathology Limited Licensee:
The supervisor of a Speech-Language Pathology Limited Licensee shall:
Hold a current Full License in Speech-Language Pathology (or, if the position is in a setting where licensure is not required, the supervisor shall hold a current CCC-SLP from ASHA.)
Have been in practice for a minimum of 2 years after completion of the clinical fellowship
Supervise not more than three limited licensees at one time.
Not have been formally disciplined by the Board within the previous 5 years.
The supervisor shall provide a minimum of 36 hours of supervisory activities during the clinical fellowship to include a minimum of 2 hours of on-site observation of clinical services in direct client contact and 2 hours of other monitoring activities each month. The supervisor shall notify the Board if the supervisor withdraws from supervising a limited licensee.
A supervisor is legally and ethically responsible for services provided or omitted by the Limited Licensee.
A Limited License is valid for one year and renewable if necessary for part-time employment, completion of the national examination or other reasons acceptable to the Board. If a limited licensee fails to receive a full license within 2 years after the date the initial limited license was issued, the individual shall wait a minimum of 1 year before the individual may apply for another license.
Click on the Forms Link to download an application for a Limited License in Speech-Language Pathology